# **Lewdown Grouped Parish Council**

Coryton, Lewtrenchard, Marystow and Thrushelton
Minutes No 786

# **Annual Parish's Meetings**

Held on 28th April 2025 at Lewdown Victory Hall

Meetings commenced 7.30pm.

### **Coryton Meeting**

- 1. Chair's welcome no other councillors were present.
- 2. Apologies for absence not applicable.
- 3. Election of new Chair and Secretary Cllr Perkins was happy to continue for a further year.
- 4. Members of the public open forum no members present.

## **Lewtrenchard Meeting**

- 1. The Chair welcomed those present including Cllrs Metherell and Mincher.
- 2. Apologies for absence all present
- 3. Election of new Chair and Secretary. It was resolved that Cllr Yeo would continue as chair and secretary.
- 4. Members of the public open forum no members present.
- 5. The chair related on the previous year's Sabine Baring- Gould Centenary events held in the parish and other parts. A blue plaque was erected and unveiled by members of the Almond family (BG descendants) at Lew Trenchard Manor gates supported by many dignitaries such as the chairman of Devon County Council and others. The long-serving ex-chairman and councillor Trevor Dawe received an award for "Long Service to the Community" as a result of his stewardship and work since the early 1970's

Of note this year has been the long period of reroofing and maintenance carried out at Lew House, whilst the hotel has been closed. It is expected to re-open in June 2025.

Councillor Mincher reported on the "new" houses at Lew Trenchard Crossroads where some remain incomplete with some being still occupied yet drainage issues and building equipment remain on-site unused, also WDBC, planning enforcements not completed. Meeting closed 7.45

#### **Marystow Meeting**

- 1. The Chair welcomes all those present including Cllr Wilkinson.
- 2. Apologies for absence all present
- 3. Election of new Chair and Secretary. It was resolved that Cllr McSmythurs (Chair) and Cllr Wilkinson (secretary) continue unchallenged.
- 4. Members of the public open forum no members present.

#### **Thrushelton Meeting**

- 1. The Chair welcomed all those present
- 2. Apologies for absence Cllr Alexander
- 3. Election of new Chair and Secretary It was resolved that Cllr Andrews (Chair) and Cllr Southcott (secretary) continue unchallenged.
- 4. Members of the public open forum no members present.

All meetings closed 7.45pm.

Peter van Delft Lewdown Grouped Parish Clerk

Parish Councillors

Tom Andrews (chair), Terry Southcott (vice chair)

Richard Alexander, Andrew McSmythurs, George Metherell, Paul Mincher, Nicola Perkins, Brian Wilkinson, Graham Yeo